LSC & Committees

Local School Councils were created under the 1988 School Reform Act to involve Chicago's communities in their schools. Councils are at the very heart of school reform and are responsible for many positive changes taking place. Input and decision-making by the Local School Councils have proven to be meaningful and the councils have become positive partners in the education process.

The Local School Council (LSC) is comprised of the Principal, 6 elected parent representatives, 2 appointed teacher representatives, 1 appointed school staff representative, and 2 elected community representatives. Local School Councils are the site-based management team of each school and participates in the governance of school.

The LSC is responsible for:

  • Planning with the administration and staff
  • Parent and community member involvement
  • Principal evaluation and contract signing
  • Approval of Continuous Improvement Work Plan (CIWP)
  • Approval of expenditure plan

The LSC meets on the 2nd Wednesday of every month at 6:15 pm in the Cafeteria of the Main Building at 1212 S. Plymouth Court. These are largely business meetings, but they are open meetings and there is an opportunity for public comment at each meeting. Parents, community members, teachers and staff are invited to attend. Minutes from the meeting will be posted to this website when they have been finalized by the council.


2015-2016 Dates & Agenda

November 2015 (No meeting)
January 2016 (No Meeting)

*Exception to 2nd Wed


Much of the LSC responsibilities, as defined in the bylaws, are worked on in committee. These standing committees, also defined in the school bylaws, are charged with a specific function. Like the LSC meetings, committee meetings are open meetings and parents and community members are encouraged to participate as a member or simply to attend the open meetings. Please see the school calendar for committee meeting dates or contact the committee chair.

 Local School Council Directory

Parent Representatives

Angela-Stinson-Marti - Chair
Jason Easterly - Vice Chair
Rishi Agrawal
Lisa Johnson
Jules Melhado
Lynne Pieper


Community Representatives

Anna Fazekas
Sufyan Sohel

Faculty Representatives

Tara Shelton - Principal
Kevin LaCoco
Brett Barbee